Donald C. Prentiss


Phone: 252-698-0210
Fax: (252) 335-4223
301 East Main Street, Elizabeth City, NC 27909


Jennifer Peoples (Legal Assistant)
Donna Luper (Paralegal)

All fields are required for submission.

Email Message


Don’s practice focuses on helping individuals throughout the civil litigation process.  With more than thirty years of experience in insurance defense litigation, Don is a skilled trial attorney with a vast knowledge of North Carolina motor vehicle, premise liability, and personal injury law.  In addition to insurance defense, Don helps injured individuals recover damages for injuries suffered in accidents. He also litigates commercial and contract disputes, involving both individuals and businesses.


  • Wake Forest University (B.A., 1977; J.D., 1981)
    • Phi Delta Phi

Honors & Distinctions

  • NCDRC Certified Superior Court Mediator
  • Martindale-Hubbell “AV” rating
  • North Carolina Citizen Lawyer Award Recipient
  • Fellow, American College of Trial Lawyers

Bar & Affiliations

  • North Carolina State Bar
  • United States District Court, Eastern District of North Carolina
  • United States District Court, Middle District of North Carolina
  • United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
  • First Judicial District Bar (Former President)
  • North Carolina State Bar Disciplinary Hearing Commission
  • American Bar Association
    • Litigation Section
    • Tort Trial and Insurance Practice
  • North Carolina Association of Defense Attorneys, Board of Directors
  • Defense Research Institutes
  • North Carolina State Bar Councilor (2004-13)
  • Disciplinary Hearing Commission, Chair (2019-2022)
  • Legal Services of N.C., Board of Directors (1990-95)
  • Client Security Fund, Board of Directors (2001-05)

Personal & Community

  • Christ Episcopal Church
  • Albemarle Economic Development Commission
  • BB&T Bank, Board of Directors
  • Elizabeth City Area Chamber of Commerce, Board of Directors
  • Elizabeth City Morning Rotary Club
  • Food Bank of the Albemarle, Board of Directors (1990-99, Former Chairman)